Photo Evidence: Travels in Thailand, Vietnam and Cambodia

I admit that I’ve been back for over a week now and have avoided posting pictures. I wish I could use the excuse that I was busy lesson planning for next semester but in all actuality I have become completely engrossed in the television series 24. Not to excuse my lazy couch-potato behavior, but I’ve also read two books (The White Tiger and The Time Traveler’s Wife-both of which I recommend) and attended a two day WorldTeach’s mid-service meeting.

Below are 12 photographs representing the 12 destinations of our month-long adventure through much of mainland Southeast Asia. These are my top picks (from an album much larger, coming soon to my Flickr account), selected for reasons ranging from sheer beauty to interesting obscurity. Enjoy!

Red shirts demonstrate in business district

Protests in Bangkok, Thailand: 3 April 2010

Amateur Photography in Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand: 4 April 2010

Making Merit in Chiang Mai, Thailand: 11 April 2010

Ruins of Monumental Proportions in Sukhothai, Thailand: 14 April 2010

Where Nature Meets Nirvana in Ayuthaya, Thailand: 16 April 2010

Finding tranquility at the Temple of Literature in Hanoi, Vietnam: 19 April 2010

Kayaking in Halong Bay, Vietnam: 20 April 2010

Eating Cao Lau in Hoi An, Vietnam: 24 April 2010

Bathroom Break in Nha Trang, Vietnam: 25 April 2010

Main Post Office in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam: 26 April 2010

National Museum in Phnom Penh, Cambodia: 29 April 2010

Climbing Stairs at Angkor Wat in Siem Reap, Cambodia: 1 May 2010

2 responses to “Photo Evidence: Travels in Thailand, Vietnam and Cambodia

  • Aunt Val

    My whole family loves 24 also!! I can’t believe there are only 3 more episodes left!! I also liked the Time Travelers Wife but I HATED the ending!!! I won’t say more for those who have not read the book. The kids and I were thinking about you last night! We were watching a food show program and it was about chocolate covered crickets. We even know where you can order them now so when you get back if you miss eating your bugs we can always get you some!! Love Aunt Val

    • Caitlyn

      Oh good, I was really worried about how I would satisfy my bug withdrawals once I’m back in the States! Tell the kids that I hope they’ll join me when I feast on ant eggs and crickets =) Miss you and give everyone a hug for me!

Leave a Reply

