What? It’s no big deal…

I am off for the second time this week because it is Constitution Day in Thailand. With the extra free time I thought I’d take a moment to blog about some of the things I have become accustomed to doing on a regular basis:

  • Carrying a wad of toilet paper in my pocket every time I use public bathrooms (including bathrooms at my school)
  • Rolling up my pants every time I use a squat toilet so as to not make a mess of my outfit
  • Looking right then left when crossing streets
  • Finding small animals and insects in my dishes at lunch (which belong there) and then eating them
  • Picking tiny red ants out of my hot water before making tea or coffee (no, these do not belong there)
  • Constantly placing heavy objects on any loose papers to keep them from blowing away
  • Strategically searching for and standing in any shade possible during the day
  • Adapting to the broad temperature changes in my room throughout the day, which drops to about 60F in the morning and can spike at 95F by midday
  • Explaining to people that my family is not wealthy, and despite being from the United States, no, I do not own a plane

I’m sure I will continue to add to this list as time goes on but I just wanted to share a little insight what parts of my life look like here. Also, check out the WorldTeach NOW blog that features stories of volunteers around the world. On December 5th they reported on our Thailand Thanksgiving feast and some of my pictures made the story!

I hope everyone in the Midwest (especially in Wisconsin!) is having a blast with the blizzard. From the pictures I’ve seen it looks like some good packing snow for snowball fights and snowpeople. Miss you all!

One response to “What? It’s no big deal…

  • Aunt Val

    Let me tell you, with the weather we are having I can only WISH for 95 degree weather. HECK – I can only WISH for 20 degree weather!! I’m Jealous!!!

Leave a Reply

