Moving Day

It’s our last night at the orientation site in Nakhon Phanom. Tomorrow morning we will be picked up by our principals, who will help us move in to our permanent teacher housing. The 10 WorldTeach volunteers are scattered throughout the province so it will be quite an adjustment from the past month! I am looking forward to having my own space and finally unpacking my suitcase. Perhaps what I’m most anxious about is being so far away from the city and its shops, restaurants, and markets. My village is about 40 kilometers, or 50 minutes, southwest of Nakhon Phanom. I’m sure I’ll be able to find rides into town when I want to visit the city volunteer teachers. 

Here’s one of my favorite spots in the city, looking across the Mekong River to the mountains of Laos: 

Laos from Mekong

And here’s a picture of my new place:

New place in Pla Pak

I’m not sure what the internet situation will be like in my new village but once I find out I’ll be sure to upload more pictures! I hope everyone in the States had a happy Halloween =)

4 responses to “Moving Day

Leave a Reply

